March 05 - 09, 2012

The National Center for Physics (NCP), Islamabad, Pakistan in collaboration with the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Trieste, Italy, is organizing the International Scientific Spring (ISS), March 5-9, 2012. The ISS has become a tradition since 2009 where a large number of scientists and researchers from around the globe gather to celebrate the festivity of the science culture in Pakistan. The ISS 2012 will be jointly directed by H. Saleem (NCP) and J. Niemela (ICTP).


The ISS was started in 2009 to inspire young students and researchers working in the field of physics and related disciplines, and to enhance the scientific, technological, industrial and economic development of the region. It was started with the idea that the spring of new ideas and thoughts would appear in the country, leading to open mindedness, free thinking, prosperity and peace. Every year, a large number (over 350) of young researchers and students participate along with a number of internationally renowned scientists. The morning sessions are devoted to plenary talks of general interest, while the afternoon parallel sessions focus on more sharply defined topics in the areas noted below. Poster sessions are also arranged to give room for more in-depth discussions. Overall the ISS becomes a marketplace for the exchange of scientific ideas and a forum for the development of cultural harmony among the young scientists and research students.


H. Saleem J. Niemela (Italy)

Advisory Committee

G. Ma (China) B. Eliasson (Germany) C. Nergiz (Turkey)
E. E Carpenter (USA) A. El-Nadi (Egypt) B. P. Pandey (Australia)
Z. Zainal (Malaysia) S. Poedts (Belgium) S. Krol (Italy)
A. D. Roeck (Switzerland) M. Kono (Japan) P. K. Shukla (Germany)
I. Kourakis (UK) J. Vranjes (Belgium) S. M. Mahajan (USA)
U. Widemann (Switzerland) A. A. Mamoon, (Bangladesh) Z. Yoshida (Japan)
S. Al-Harthi (Oman) D. Batani (Italy) U. Bovensiepen (Germany)

Technical Committee

H. Saleem H. Hoorani S. T. Hussain
M. Arif J. Vranjes

Organizing Committee

Riffat Mahmood Qureshi Ishaq Ahmad Shahid Ali
Samina Nazir M. Irfan Asghar Rabia Rasheed


National and international young scientists and active researchers including Ph.D and M. Phil students are encouraged to participate and present their research work in the following fields which comprise the main focus areas of the conference:

  • Applications of Synchrotron Radiation (SyR)
  • Nano Sciences (NaS)
  • Particle Physics (PaP)
  • Plasma Physics (PlP)

After the deadline for submission the technical committee of ISS will make the selection of applicants and a list will then appear on NCP website. Local hospitality and travel will be provided to all selected participants from within Pakistan; however, a few travel grants may be made available to foreign participants, especially from developing countries.

Eligibility for Participation

  • M.Phil/Ph.D degree holders/students
  • Preferably age below 45 years
  • Preference will be given to:
    • Applicants who are working in relevant areas and have international publications during last two years.
    • Applicants who are desirous to participate in oral/poster presentations.

Scientific Exhibition

A scientific exhibition will also be held, providing an opportunity for scientists and students to increase their awareness of products or projects that may impact their research.


To download the registration form, click here.
Registration Fee:
Rs. 500/- for students.
Rs. 1000/- for researchers doing jobs.
Note: Selected participants have to deposit registration fee in cash only at registration desk.
Deadline: January 15, 2012.

Selected Speakers & Participants

  • To download the foreign speakers and participants list, click here.
  • To download the local participants list, click here.

Conference Poster

To download the brochure, click here.

Conference Schedule

For Further Queries, Please Contact:
Collaborations & Academic Activities Department (CAAD)
National Centre for Physics,
Shahdra Valley Road, Islamabad, Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-2077360, +92-51-2077349
Fax: +92-51-2077395